About The Author

D.B. Jackson/David B. CoeD.B. Jackson is the pen name of David B. Coe, the award-winning author of more than two dozen books — including epic fantasies, urban fantasies, historical fantasies, media tie-ins, and a book on writing — and as many short stories. His work has been translated into a dozen languages. As D.B. Jackson he writes The Islevale Cycle, a time travel/epic fantasy series from Angry Robot Books and Falstaff Books. The first book, Time’s Children, received a starred review from Publisher’s Weekly and was named the Best Fantasy Novel of 2018 by Reviews and Robots. The second novel, Time’s Demon, has been called “about as perfect a second book in a series as a reader could hope to have” by SffWorld. And the third and final book, Time’s Assassin, has recently been released by Falstaff Books.

D.B. also writes the Thieftaker Chronicles, a historical urban fantasy set in pre-Revolutionary Boston. The first volume, Thieftaker, came out in July 2012 from Tor Books. This was followed by Thieves’ Quarry (Tor, July 2013), A Plunder of Souls (Tor, July 2014), and Dead Man’s Reach (Tor, July 2015).  In addition to the novels of the Thieftaker Chronicles, D.B. has written and published several short stories set in the Thieftaker world. Many of these have now been gathered in a collection called Tales of the Thieftaker (Lore Seekers Press, 2017). The most recent installment in the Thieftaker saga is The Loyalist Witch — Thieftaker, Fall 1770, a trilogy of novellas coming out in the spring and summer of 2021.

As David B. Coe, he has most recently published Knightfall: The Infinite Deep, a tie-in with the History Channel’s ™ Knightfall series. He has also written a contemporary urban fantasy series called The Case Files of Justis Fearsson (Spell Blind, His Father’s Eyes, and Shadow’s Blade, published by Baen Books. And he has written several other epic fantasy series, including the Crawford Award-winning LonTobyn Chronicle, Winds of the Forelands, and Blood of the Southlands.

D.B. Jackson/David B. Coe was born in New York many, many years ago, and has since lived in New England, California, Australia, and Appalachia. He did his undergraduate work at Brown University, worked for a time as a political consultant, went to Stanford University, where he earned a Master’s and Ph.D. in U.S. History, and finally returned to his first love: writing fiction.

D.B. is married to a college professor who is far smarter than he is, and together they have two beautiful daughters, both of whom are also far smarter than their father. Life’s tough that way. They live in a small college town on the Cumberland Plateau.